Service Safari — Bird & Branch

Mingren Fu
Service Design Innovation
3 min readSep 13, 2023

Speaking of comfort food, perhaps the ham & brie croissant is what provides me with a feeling of well-being. Over the weekend, I went to a small business named Bird & Branch in Midtown Manhattan to get my comfort food.

My comfort food

Before I entered the shop, I saw their menu, operating hours, and the “ADA (Americans with Disabilities Act) Access” sign. There’s even a QR code that links to the digital menu on their website. However, it’s a little hard to read the operating hours from my height due to the reflection from the glass.

Left - Signage telling the customers to visit their new spot at Pier 57; Middle - screenshot of the menu on their website (obtained by scanning the QR code); Right - ADA Access sign, operating hours, physical menu, and a QR code to the digital menu displayed outside

The unique decorations they put inside effectively reflected the theme of their brand name — “Bird & Branch.” Thinking of words like “birds” and “branches” has reminded me of nature. I was surprised by what I saw in front of my eyes the moment I walked into the cafe. They put a large greenery canvas (moss wall art) on the wall with plants hanging from the ceiling. The space has been set up similar to a mini-exhibition.

Left - Greenery canvas (moss wall arts); Right - plants hanging from the ceiling

I ordered a ham & brie croissant, a cup of matcha tea, and a peanut butter chocolate cookie. The experience was quite smooth throughout the process. Instead of putting the menu on the wall like most places, they put it next to the cashier, which makes it much easier to read for someone with a bad vision like me. The cafe accepts multiple payment methods, including cash, credit/debit cards, as well as Apple Pay, etc.

After I placed my order, I was directed to wait at the pickup desk on the left. I like how the cafe provided hand sanitizers on both the ordering and pickup desks for customers to clean their hands before eating.

Left - hand sanitizers; Right - coffee beans in a machine

Once I picked up the food, I went ahead to get some napkins. I noticed they prepared some small gifts for the customers on the self-service desk. On top of the cup holder and napkins, they placed some stickers, pinback buttons, and coasters in separate containers.

There’s an indoor and outdoor dining space for customers to choose from. I decided to eat indoors, and I could smell the natural scent of coffee beans in the eating area.

Left - small gifts at the cafe; RIght - me at the cafe;

Overall, I would say it’s a great dining experience. However, I think there’s definitely some room for improvement, especially in the recycling area, since I was a little confused when I tried to discard the food wrappers before leaving the cafe.

The recycling bins at the cafe

--

--