Alumna Spotlight: Ayanna Berg

I work for Bridge the Gap as the High School and College Success Program Assistant, and Sophomore advisor. We provide comprehensive educational, social and emotional resources to underserved youth in Marin City and Southern Marin. I am particularly excited about our summer recovery program coming up, where students will be able to remediate their grades over the summer for free and participate in several extracurricular workshops led by our amazing HS & College staff.

The CASC minor has done a lot to prepare me for this role. I was exposed to many of the non-profits in the area, many of which I have the pleasure of working with through the non-profit space now. The minor also taught me a lot about critical consciousness, and how to deepen my understanding of the communities around me — this is life-long learning. In education, critical consciousness allows us to openly talk about the role social forces play in our students lives, learning opportunities, and outcomes.

This year working with BTG, I have learned that operating within the equity lens is extremely important. It is the key pillar that allows us to continuously adapt to the growing needs of the community within education.

I am so grateful to be a part of the BTG team, and to be of service to these students/families- and I have CASC to thank for preparing me to be here!

--

--