5th Avenue w/58th street. A real new york block.

Pedro Canuto
ILSC Creative English
2 min readOct 30, 2014

Whatever means of transportation you choose, when you arrive at 5th ave with 58st, you’ll see an amazing and lively block of New York City.

As I went by subway (4 train at 59th street), I started my experience on this block heading on 58th street, passing by FAO Schwarz. Although the store does not have the same grandeur of a decade ago, it is still the best shop to buy toys and childrens stuff. Why not go and feel like a child again? For example, I had to go into the store and play the piano from the movie BIG. How could you not feel that emotion? I played with my hands, my feet, everything except my head because I was afraid that they thought I was retarded, which I probably am, but I prefer that people remain unaware about this :-P

Immediately after leaving the FAO Schwarz, you can hear all the noise and the bustle of people lining up to get into the Apple Store. Even though, the new iPhone 6 was launched a month ago, people keep piling up in this bizarre waiting list formed outside the store. Meanwhile those interested in any other products come and go freely.

In front of the Apple Store, I finally could have my breakfast at one of the food trucks that sells hotdogs and other Arab snacks. Actually, I was seduced by that smell from the moment i had arrived on that street. I ordered a lamb gyro with hot sauce. The bread was crispy and the meat was really soft. In other words, delicious.

Before finishing my walk down this block, I had to go up to the square to see the hotel where Home Alone 2 was filmed.

After looking at that amazing block with its impressive shops, its beautiful square, and the setting for movies from my childhood, head across the street and start a nice journey into central park.

--

--