EVS, a spot to call as my place

Pedro Canuto
ILSC Creative English
2 min readDec 3, 2014

Since I arrived in New York, I'm tracking for a bar to call my place as my second home.

Following an advice from Théo, my cool english teacher, who I always ask for new spots and places to go out with my friends told me to go to PDT, a hidden bar inside a hot dog shop.

Upon arriving at the PDT, the line had already accumulated 10 names before me, which means a waiting between 1 hour and 1 hour and a half. For those who want to enjoy, every minute lost in the line is a infinitude. That’s when I realized ahead of PDT a bar that had an outgoing soul and cool people cool in front of the door. I decided to risk

I do not regret. Finally, I found a bar to call as my place. Named as EVS, East Village Social at 126 St. Mark’s Place near Avenue A.

EVS has this awesome old-fashioned vibe, despite being quite new. Looks like a good, low-key neighborhood bar.

An intimate venue with live music, very solid draft beers, and fantastic staff. There are 10 kinds of beers on tap as well as seasonal sangrias. They also serve “comfort food”.

I have to say. All drinks are server in mason jars. That's really charming.

Great prices for great, simple, and delicious food (the mason o’ bacon is literally a mason jar filled with bacon). Tough to beat.

I really want East Village Social to be called as my spot in NYC. A venue that I want to hang out in with my friends.

--

--