Abortion

María Claudia Tarazona Vásquez
ILSC Creative English
2 min readApr 16, 2015

Last week, there was a windy and cold day and I was in a coffee shop with my Colombian friend Diana. We were talking about our life in NYC, school, good places, and future plans in the city. On the internet we found a headline about abortion in our country that said that more than 5000 girls as young as 14 years old were pregnant in 2014.

“What do you think about the article?” I asked.

“I can’t understand these situations. In 85% of the cases, the father was over the age of 20 years old, which legally constitutes sexual abuse and one of the solutions that the girls consider is abortion,” Diana replied. “I’m catholic and I don’t accept that this happens because abortion is murder.”

“I’m catholic too, but I support Colombia’s law on abortion,” I argued. “Abortion is illegal in our country except in cases that threaten the life or health of the woman. Also, if the pregnancy is the result of rape, or when the fetus is expected to die after birth because of severe fetal abnormalities.”

“But Maria, remember that selective abortion based on genetic abnormalities is overt discrimination,” she added coolly. “I disagree because life begins at conception so unborn babies are human beings with a right to live.”

“Diana, I know, but it’s not fair that unwanted babies come into the world,” I complained.

Crickets, crickets.

“A pregnancy with severe fetal abnormalities will cause maternal injury and death,” I said.

“Abortion generates many problems for the mothers. This includes psychological damage and health issue!” Diana exclaimed.

“I believe and support these exceptions because they can affect the life of women in different aspects of their lives,” I retorted. “Reproductive choice empowers women by giving them control over their own bodies.”

“Maria, I want to continue this conversation, but I need to go back home,” Diana replied. “It´s late. We need more time to talk about this topic.”

“Ok, Diana see you next weekend.”

--

--