Narintip Chanakul
ILSC Creative English
2 min readJan 12, 2015

--

Walks Across Brooklyn Bridge : New Year 2015

11:57

I walked in the freezing weather on the Brooklyn Bridge. It was so cold… OMG!! I lost feeling of my face at this time. I looked around the bridge. Many people wore big coats and colorful hair bands, glasses, and hats with the words “happy new year 2015". Some of the people are sitting and waiting for the special time.

11:58

I called my family in Thailand to say “Happy New Year 2015 from New York". Actually I already called them in noon because the time in New York is slower than Thailand by 12 hours. Anyway I just wanted to talk with them again. I miss them so much!! When I return to my country I will not go anywhere far from them again, I thought to myself.

11:59

I felt a little bit excited. This is my first time celebrating New Year’s Eve in another country alone. I heard a man next to me start talking about his new year resolution with his friends. He will stop smoking, go to a gym and bla bla bla………… I smiled to myself and thought about my resolution!! Then my friend pulled my hand and said “This is amazing and freezing new year eve in my life.”

People around me started counting down…

“5"

“4"

“3"

“2"

and “1"

“Happy New Year 2015!!!”

12:00

The firework went off near the bridge. I saw people kissing and hugging each other. Very very lovely night…. I thought I fell in love with the city at this moment… Lovely city!!

“Keep walking… I told myself!!”

--

--