Do you know MacDougal street?

Siena
ILSC Creative English
3 min readOct 28, 2014

10.26.2014 sunday afternoon, I went to MacDougal st in the West village. It was my second time. I looked around from Bleecker st to W 3rd st about 1 block. There weren’t many people. Only cafes and a few famous restaurants were packed! Many people in the restaurants and cafes were talking with friends or family when I arrived.

Some families were talking about Falafel while they were eating. “Delicious. Good! I want to one more” So I also want to try Falafel next time.

Today MacDougal st was pretty empty and not crowded. Only a few people were walking and one or two homeless people were sitting on the street. The atmosphere of this street was very calm. I think that the windy and the cold weather made the atmosphere much calmer than usual.

There are many small shops, bars and cafes. While I was walking along the street, I could smell pizza, something grilled and coffee. The coffee aroma especially made me feel better. So I bought an iced vanila latte in Coffee Bean&Tea leaf which is one of my favorite coffee brands.

Actually, when I saw this cafe, I was shocked. Because this cafe is a Korean coffee shop! When I was in Korea, I often went here. Also I was pleased that it had a lower price than in Korea. It’s taste was sweet and a little bitter.

I started to walk again with my coffee and saw old houses on top of the shops, some abandoned bicycles, a lot of litter, cigarette butts and fallen leaves. These made this street more special.

If you have opportunity to come to New York, you should go to MacDougal st! You can eat special foods that are sold only on MacDougal st, drink the first cappuccino and feel the authentic atmosphere of New York. Also you can feel as young as a student, because many NYU buildings and students are there. MacDougal st is not the most famous or biggest place but the best place to enjoy New York.

--

--