Life as a House

Narintip Chanakul
ILSC Creative English
3 min readFeb 9, 2015

Life as a House is a drama film that focuses on a man, George, who tries to repair his relationship with his ex-wife and his son by rebuilding his father’s old house after he is diagnosed with terminal cancer.

I think that the film shows us that as long as you are still breathing, there is still chance to make amends. Not to make up for past mistakes but to make today better!

I like Life as a House because it is not about whether George lives or dies. In fact, the movie depends on the audience knowing that is he will die. Here is a guy who is in his final moments. He sees the chance to rediscover the life he should have by living just as his time is running out. After I watched the film, I asked myself “If I am in a similar situation, What is the first thing I will do??” The film makes me think and looks back to the important things in my life. Maybe life is not so long, sometimes we leave the important things behind and spend time working and make money instead. When something happens and we start to pay attention, it is too late to do anything about it. It touched my feeling and my heart, so that why I like this film.

Overall, I feel that Life as a House is worth watching because it is hopeful about every person’s ability to change, and to do it before it is too late. Moreover, the film compares the relationship to a house and it needs to be built. It is hard to work but when you are done, you have something wonderful. In the end, George and Sam end up with a beautiful home they have built. I think it is beautiful story and makes me smile and cry at the same time.

The three main actors in the movie is George, his Ex-wife Robin, and his son Sam.

Kevin Kline plays George, a fabricator of architectural models, is fired from the job he has held for twenty years. After that he found that he is a terminal cancer with only 3–4 months to live. Robin, played by Kristen Scott-Thomas, is George’s Ex-wife and his son,Sam, played by Hayden Christensen.

The most important event in Life as a House happens when George decided to rebuild his father’s old house and Sam must spend the summer with George and help him to construct the house. As time pass, George slowly reconnects with Sam. Robin decides to assist as well, and she begins to find herself rediscovering the man she once loved.

The part of Life as a House I like best was when they build the house and repaired their relationship. It is a beautiful scene and I think everyone who has a family can relate.

I would recommend Life as a house because it is a beautiful story with hope, a family relationship and a good soundtrack.

--

--