My travelling

Siena
ILSC Creative English
3 min readOct 14, 2014

Have you ever been bitten by bedbugs? I think that if you ever gone to Italy, maybe “Yes”.

Italy is very famous, beautiful country and also has many historical relics. Italy is the top 5 most visited countries in the world 2014.

Therefore there are so many kinds of accommodations for tourist. For instance hotel, motel, hostel, homestay, b&b and so on. We can find suitable place for us on a lot of online booking sites.

When my friend and I went to Italy, my friend’s boyfriend book our accommodations in advance. Frankly I was worried about that, but my friend told me “Don’t worry. He can book well at a low price. You just book airplane and train.” So I trusted to them for the booking.

At the end of travelling in Italy, something I was afraid of happened in Venice. When we arrived at the hotel in Venice, we couldn’t repress our astonishment. The hotel was definitely a 3 star hotel. However the interior as well as the exterior of hotel were so horrible! The only advantage of the hotel was location. At first I tried to adapt to the hotel, but when the hotel staff showed us another guest’s room by mistake we were so embarrassed. In additional our room looked like very dirty and restroom was too small. There were also other reasons I really wanted change to another hotel. That’s “Bedbugs”!! Actually I was already bitten by bedbugs in a hotel in Rome, so I was afraid that the bite from bedbugs occur again.

The bite from bedbugs is so terrible. It is totally different from a mosquito. It makes us very itchy! Furthermore the bite marks remains for a long time. I heard that hotels in Italy have a lot of bedbugs before going to Italy. Of course it is maybe misconstrued, but I experienced it firsthand. It was very hard to endure the itching. So terrible. I don’t know exactly why lots of bedbugs are there. I think that a huge number of tourists and some hotel’s uncleanness cause the problem.

Finally we decided to move another hotel. However we already paid money for 2 values of room in advance, so we should make up a good reason. The staff asked us “Why? Is something wrong with your room?” We said “No, nothing. Just our plan was suddenly changed. So can we have a refund?” Fortunately we got a refund for one day.

After getting refund, we found another 5 star hotel at very low price and moved there. Of course I didn’t know bedbugs were or were not that 3 star hotel. However I was totally overwhelmed by the 3 star hotel’s atmosphere, so I did not want to play with fire!

After travelling in Italy, I learned many things. Especially when we book our accommodations we should check the hotels cleanliness and score from reviews. And next time, I will reserve my accommodation by myself. Be careful of bedbugs! especially in 2~3 star hotels.

--

--