No, You Can’t…

Ornella Franco Delgado
ILSC Creative English
2 min readNov 10, 2014

When I was 6 years old, I went with my family to visit my great grand mother for 1 week. My father decided travel by bus, because the city where she lives is 12 hours from my house. When we were at the bus station on our way home, Francisco, who is my older brother saw a younger boy near us. The boy had a handcart full of bottles of Chicha, a traditional and cheap drink made of corn. This was interesting for him. He walked to the handcart and when the young boy was not looking, my brother picked up the handcart. At that moment I wanted to do the same things as my brother. I ran to the handcart and my brother said to me :

No, You can’t. Is heavy for you.

I didn't listen to my brother and I lifted the handcart. But I couldn't bear the weight, because the handcart, was as heavy as a boulder. the handcart flipped over and all the bottles that were inside were broken. The younger boy, who was the owner of the handcart, looked at me, screamed a bad word, and ran at me. My parents realized what was happening and ran towards us also. My father, took me in his arms, and the young boy said to him:

It was my work item, I lost money because of your daughter , I need my handcart, and my bottles, because this is my job.

I started to cry like a baby and hugged my father.

My father was educated, a great negotiator, and friendly with the young boy, and said to him:

I am sorry for this accident. My daughter is a child, and this was unintentionally, she is scared, and I am sure, she regrets it. I understand, you are right, this is your job, and for this reason. I am going to pay for all.

The problem was, the young boy, wanted a lot of money. My father to avoid problems, gave him what he wanted.

My mother who is serious and strict, scolded me, but also said to me:

Don’t cry more everything is fine.

My brother, who is my best friend, was sad, angry, and worried. He does not like seeing me sad.

That day I learned I have to listen to advice from the people who love me.

--

--