Fernando Aguilar
ILSC Creative English
2 min readJul 30, 2015

--

Controversial Dialogue: Religion in schools

At the end of a parents conference in a public school, the teacher and a muslim parent were speaking about religion in schools. The parent was saying that in their community, religion was everything. It is more than a belief, it is a way of life.

The teacher, with respect, said that in the US, the Supreme Court has long made it clear that the Constitution prohibits public school-sponsored prayer because it is a free country and everyone has the freedom to believe what they want.

“I understand,” said the parent with a calm voice, “but I think that american children, or even, the world’s children have to grow with one religion because that helps them to be a good, educated, and respectful person”.

“Maybe you’re right sir, but our culture is different, you can choose and live your life as you want. What is better than freedom?” said the teacher smiling.

The parent said, with an expression of despair, “Are you saying that we aren't free?”

“Excuse me sir, but obviously you are putting words in my mouth,” replied the teacher. “Our country is free, and here exists private religious schools, and we have to understand that in US nothing is more important than freedom.”

The parent, with a pensive face, said, “Fine, I get it, and it’s possible that you’re right. I like this school very much and my son has learned well since we moved here… So, I will try to accept this. I apologize, but we are not in our country, and changing all our way of life has been difficult, but we have to learn. Have a good afternoon teacher”.

“Take care Sir.”

--

--