The old man and boy

Siena
ILSC Creative English
3 min readNov 10, 2014

A old man who was pretty rich was living in the town. His name was Mr.Cold. Just like his name, he was very cold-hearted, curt and merciless. Almost all of his neighbors knew that he was cold, so nobody wanted to talk to him. Because if someone was will in to him, he thought the person wanted something from his property. He was as stubborn as a mule. He never listened to others advice that he should be more merciful and generous to people.

One day, a boy who named Torch visited his house to beg for something. “Hello, Dear Mr.Cold. My name is Torch. I’m orphan and living with my sister. If you could help me, I’d be glad. Could you give me some food?” Not surprisingly, Mr.Cold kicked the boy out coldly. “No! I don’t want to help you now and forever. Don’t come again!” However, the boy had visited his house to beg for something for 3 months. Mr.Cold had opened a door on an oversight for a few days, but since then he had never opened a door.

One evening, Torch visited Mr.Cold’s house as usual and he saw a person who was prowling around the backyard. Torch thought he should let Mr.Cold know, so the boy knocked on the door until Mr.Cold opened but there was no answer. Just then the boy suddenly smelled something burning, so he unavoidably broke a window and ran into the house.

As soon as Torch found Mr.Cold, the boy took Mr.Cold by the hand and dragged him from the house. Mr.Cold said “What are you doing! You are definitely crazy! I’ll report you to the police. Stupid boy!” At the moment, his house was burning. He was speechless with astonishment. He mumbled to himself “I can’t believe…. What happened…” The boy said “I’m sorry, but I only did what I ought to do. Now I can’t visit you again… If you need a place to stay, I can give you shelter for a short time…..maybe you don’t want…” Torch gave him a piece of paper with an address on it and left.

Mr.Cold lost all the things in his house and felt the futility of life. He was starting to regret his past. Finally, he visited the boy’s house and apologized. “I’m so sorry. The stupid person is me not you. I’m really appreciative that you saved me from the fire.” The boy said “I’m glad to hear that. I know that you aren’t a bad person. Because you are the only person who responds to me.”

After a month, his house was rebuilt and he was starting to help people who were poor or sick. He was especially supporting the boy. For instance he sent the boy to school, gave him money regularly and often invited the boy and his sister to his house. Since the accident his way of thinking had changed completely. He said “Thanks to the strange person who set the fire. If the person didn’t set the fire, I would live a pathetic life forever.”

--

--