How CryptoGnome develops automated trading strategies and shares them with his 16k+ YouTube subscribers — Set Social Trader Spotlight

Anthony Sassano
Set Labs
Published in
4 min readMay 15, 2020

Welcome to the Set Social Trader Spotlight Series. In these posts, we give you insight into exciting new traders that will be trading on the Set Social Trading platform. If you want to learn more about Set Social Trading, you can click here.

Today, we’ve got an interview with CryptoGnome, a new trader on the TokenSets platform who’s offering his Bitcoin High Yield Set and his Ethereum High Yield Set.

CryptoGnome’s Sets are currently live on TokenSets — you can check it out here.

Hey CryptoGnome, it’s great to have you. First, could you give us a quick intro about yourself and your background?

Hello Set community — my name is Michael, I am also known by my online handle “CryptoGnome”. I am a full time trader of the Crypto & Equity markets and I also develop private strategies for traders & institutions. I am an avid promoter of automation in crypto & equity markets and have created multiple trading bots. I have also been lucky enough to create a large Discord community that aligns with what we do in the space which I spend my spare time on helping users in the space.

You’ve been running the CryptoGnome Youtube Channel for a while now. How did that get started?

I started my Youtube Channel by documenting my journey using automated trading bots and learning about the crypto space in 2017. I quickly pivoted towards automation and trading after realizing my first profits. My next major turning point was when I learned to take my emotions out of the picture and let the numbers & strategies work for me. The biggest driver for me to continue making videos has been my amazing community as they have rallied behind me through all my projects as well as learning to develop in Python from scratch to make more advanced free & paid tools.

On your website, GnomeGarden, you offer the ‘Gnome Alerts Pro’ service — can you tell us a bit about what this service does?

Gnome Alerts is an exclusive set of scripts built exclusively for the CryptoGnome Community. All of our scripts are being designed because as a community we wanted more than the basic strategies that the masses are using with traditional trading bots. Our scripts are using multiple indicators and using other factors like volume, trend analysis, support & resistance, close price, and multiple other factors that indicators can not do alone. These are then used to be traded on centralized exchanges via Tradingview and 3rd party software to process the alerts.

What strategies will you be offering on the TokenSets platform?

At launch plan to offer two Sets that will use a similar strategy that is tuned for each pair.

Each strategy has been used on Uniswap, Binance & Coinbase via a proprietary Python Program. The backtest is written and maintained in TradingView. Major Goal is capital preservation with a draw down of < 20%. All of the indicators used to decide entry & exits are all custom and proprietary and used to determine position size on a 4-Hour to Daily Close Basis, I will also be manually adjusting the portfolio weights manually in times of major volatility to help protect capital if needed. Although I have a goal for each fund to outperform the Buy & Hold of the trading pair, the primary goal is USD preservation to the down side so you can feel comfortable investing at any point in the cycle and still be able to know you will not have as much exposure on major moves to the downside.

All of my strategies are proprietary and will be used along with my 4 years of trading experience in the markets as an Algorithm can not always see certain opportunities and risks the market presents as they happen.

You can learn more about the strategies here.

Anything else you’d like to tell us or your potential followers?

I would like to say thanks for the support and taking the time to read this inteview and welcome you to reach out to me on Discord or Telegram if you have and questions regarding the Sets as my DM’s are always open. I also plan to post weekly/monthly updates via video going over performance and strategy. See you on the other side!

Conclusion

We hope you enjoyed reading this interview! CryptoGnome’s Sets are available to view here.

Learn more about Set and join our community

Newsletter | TokenSets | Website | Medium | Twitter | Discord

--

--