How Josh Olszewicz (aka CarpeNoctom), a trader with 120k followers on Twitter, Uses Fractals To Outperform The Market — Set Social Trader Spotlight

Abhishek Punia
Set Labs
Published in
3 min readJun 15, 2020

Welcome to the Set Social Trader Spotlight Series. In these posts, we give you insight into exciting new traders that are on the Set Social Trading platform. If you want to get primed on Set Social Trading, you can click here.

Today, we‘ve got an interview with Josh Olszewicz, a new trader on the platform and creator of the Alligator + Fractal Set, for all of you to enjoy.

Josh’s Set is currently live on TokenSets — you can check it out here.

Hi Josh, nice to have you. I saw you are currently a trader at Techemy, but also have a Masters in Biotechnology. Can you give us an intro of yourself and how you got into crypto?

Originally I tried to get into medical school and after several failed attempts I started working in a lab and in various doctors’ offices. I found crypto in 2013 by accident on Reddit when I was researching investment opportunities for my Oppenheimer mutual fund. One of my friends also got into crypto through word-of-mouth on Reddit. Around Thanksgiving 2013 I finally purchased Bitcoin on Coinbase for the first time. My trading journey began immediately after that first purchase thanks to Bitcoin’s volatility.

Can you go into more detail about your Alligator + Fractal Set and its strategy?

Sure, so the alligator and fractal strategy is a trend following strategy. I find the set it and forget it strategies, such as trend following strategies, make the most money over time and outperform the market the easiest. The alligator is 3 low time frame moving averages which help determine trend, and the fractal determines entries and stop losses.

You’ve been trading in crypto for quite some time now. How has trading changed and how have trading strategies evolved?

Trading has changed slightly in that there are more players in the game now and volumes/liquidity have improved. More algo traders means more stop hunting, more Barts, and more breakout trading getting punished. All the reason to focus on trend following strategies.

My own personal trading has changed in that I know my strengths and weaknesses as a trader and how to deal with my own psychological bias. Sticking to an objective trading system with obvious entries and exits, as well as looking at less instead of more to prevent analysis paralysis, has helped me thrive over the past few years.

Are there any traders that you look up to and have influenced your style?

ChaosTrader, TriforceTrader, and Rob Booker highly influenced my trading style, particularly in regards to Cloud trading strategies. CryptoTwitter, and various Teamspeak, Telegram, and Discord channels, have also undoubtedly shaped my trading style over the years. Finding a nugget of trading nuance amongst the piles and piles of chaff makes being a part of these noisey communities valuable.

Where can people find you online?

twitter.com/carpenoctom

youtube.com/carpenoctom

tradingview.com/u/IAmSatoshi

linkedin.com/in/josh-olszewicz-3a62a7b

Anything else you’d like to tell us or your potential followers?

I’ll have a Cloud set coming soon along with an ETH/BTC set.

Conclusion

We hope you enjoyed reading this interview! You can view the Alligator + Fractal Set here. If you’d like to be notified of any future product updates, head here to sign up to email notifications!

Learn more about Set and join our community

Newsletter | TokenSets | Website | Medium | Twitter | Discord

--

--