Turkey Noodle Soup

Danielle Morsberger
Set The Table
Published in
3 min readJan 31, 2023

--

A delicious twist to a classic dish

Photo by Danielle Morsberger

This is a hearty and warming soup for those cool winter days. It’s thick and flavorful comfort food.

Ingredients

1 medium onion
3 large carrots
3 celery stalks
1 lb of cooked turkey
1 bag of gluten free egg noodles
4 cups of stock or broth
3 bay leaves
1 teaspoon tyme
1 teaspoon Italian seasoning
1/4 teaspoon saffron
salt to taste

I begin by dicing the onion and chopping the other vegetables into bitesize pieces. They I add some butter or oil to coat the bottom of my dutch oven and toss the veggies in, stirring until the onions have softened a bit. Once the onion is soft and beginning to brown, I add in the stock, turkey, and spices. You can also use chicken if that is your preference, both work really well.

I like to use turkey because it makes the meal prep easier for me. When we go to Costco we get a huge pre-cooked turkey breast and cut it in half. One half goes in the freezer and the other gets cut into cubes and put in the fridge for soups or a grab and go protein for salads and nourish bowls.

--

--

Danielle Morsberger
Set The Table

partner, parent, neighbor, friend. Processing baker and poet, healing and whole. Disabled chronically ill. I am my own.