A Modern Day Love Story

Everyday you warm my heart, you make me happy, you are my smile.

Seth Hendricks
Seth Hendricks
2 min readJun 3, 2016

--

For nearly all my life, you have played a key role. Even in middle school when I hardly knew you, I still enjoyed your presence every now and again. As I grew through the years, I became more attracted to you even though you seemingly stayed the same. Originally, I was using you as you made me appear more mature to others, however, after repeated encounters, I truly did fall in love. Despite our repetitive and monotonous affairs, despite your lack of ability to change- we stuck it through. I never pressed you. I never put you on ice. Sure, I may have roasted you here and there but I always accepted you as you were. When college hit, I depended on you more than ever. Those times were only matched by a few tough years as a police officer. Even through the rough patches, you never left me. You looked past my times of betrayal and the several times when I flat out dumped you. I don’t know why, but perhaps you’re addicted to me just as I am you. Don’t worry though, that’s how things are supposed to be. So good night for now, my love, but it won’t be long before I feel your warmth on my lips again.

Photo Credit: Drum.fit

--

--