What it’s like being the lucky…

…in three short paragraphs

Seth Hendricks
Seth Hendricks
2 min readMay 29, 2016

--

Growing up, I thought being lucky was to play baseball for a living and make millions of dollars doing so. What kid wouldn’t want to play all day and seemingly have no responsibilities? I would have been lucky to have such a life, so I thought. As time progressed, so did my view on the world. I have increasingly wanted less out of others and instead I look to give more. Being lucky for me has evolved from something made of material to something made of meaning. Having said that, I understand that luck isn’t anything more than the intersection of hard work and opportunity but when it comes to relationships, something more seems to be at play.

Over the past couple of days, I have had the great opportunity to spend time with family and friends. In so doing, I have been engulfed with love and food for that matter. NowI always try to provide value to my relationships and in all of my interactions with people. However, this weekend has been a bit different for me. I have been in awe from those around me and those who reach out to me to say, “hey.” I have been blown away so much that I have not been able to add but simply sit back and take it all in.

From these couple of days and through these relationships, I have felt special beyond belief. I left these interactions feeling truly loved and truly, well, lucky. These people reach out to say, “hi.” They choose to spend time with me just because. They don’t mind wasting an hour or two sitting there even in bouts of silence. They are unselfish with the most valuable resource we have, time. This means something to me that words can’t explain. Whether it’s receiving a simple text, sitting in silence or having someone bake you a tray full of world class deliciousness, I have realized how lucky I am. I have learned that being lucky means being loved and nothing made of material or money can replace that.

--

--