Inked Up 1 — Mel delos Santos

Seth Webster Ⓥ
Seth Webster Photography
2 min readApr 17, 2017

I’ve started a new photographic series working entitled, “Inked Up.” I’m not in love with the title so it may change. I have a few subjects lined up, but shot the first in the production yesterday, April 15th. I was inspired by Joey L’s work with Zombie Boy (a.k.a. Rick Genest).

The subject was Mel de los Santos, a New York-based tattoo artist.

Meet Mel. Canon 5D Mark III, 50mm f1.2 L, 1/60 f4, Window Light & Black V-Flat

I loved the photo that Joey L. captured for the beautiful contrast of the ink with the body and of course his masterful lighting. I’ve sought out a number of subjects to do a study series of lighting for the tattooed body. I am working to have a gallery exhibition of the series so I won’t post my final selects here, but thought I’d share some that I’m pleased with.

Mel was a fantastic subject, so easy to work with and if you have a chance, checkout Dark Elephant Tattoos. That’s Mel’s studio.

We spent the early part of the afternoon using a space at The 9 Studios on Bleecker St.

Canon 5D Mark III, Canon 50mm f1.2 L, 1/160 & f5.6, Profoto B1, 4ft Octobank
Canon 5D Mark III, Canon 50mm f1.2 L, 1/160 & f5.6, Profoto B1, 4ft Octobank

Please feel free to share your thoughts or questions in the comments, and keep shooting!

Seth

--

--

Seth Webster Ⓥ
Seth Webster Photography

Photographer, Filmmaker, Musician, Artist, Activist, working every day to make a difference.