An April Writing Challenge

Adriana Vazquez
Setting The Tone
Published in
4 min readMar 25, 2021

Do you remember the magazine Highlights? Often, you’d find it in the waiting room of your dentist or doctor’s office. If you were really lucky (like me) you might have had your own subscription.

The monthly publication had fun activities to keep children entertained, like those games where you’re supposed to find the differences between two photos or a list of riddles for you to uncover and test out on your parents (at least that’s what I liked to do).

But another feature of the magazine was a section where readers could submit their art, called Our Own Pages. It featured drawings, paintings, and poetry. When I was 9, I submitted an original poem and a few weeks (maybe months) I got a letter that it had been accepted and would be published. This was the first poem I ever remember writing. The first time I was ever published.

Every Day

By Adriana Vazquez, Age 9, California

Every day is like a soft song
so soft you can hardly hear it.
Sometimes you can hear a whole symphony,
but you have to pay attention.
Every day, there is something new —
to hear, to say, even something to do.
Every day, there is a new day.

And that’s where my writing career began, I suppose.

The original publication, circa 2001.

Some of you may be familiar with National Novel Writing Month (or NaNoWriMo), which takes place in November each year. It’s a month-long challenge that encourages anyone and everyone to write a novel in a month (around 70,000 words). They don’t have to be good words, just words. Enough to be able to do something with afterwards (if you want). I did in fact participate in that one year just for fun (maybe I should revisit my culty, camp horror novel?)

I was happy to discover that something similar happens for poetry writing. The Poem A Day (PAD) challenge takes place every April. I think I’ve only successfully participated one year, despite knowing it has existed for several years now. This year, given that I’m committing myself to writing more, I thought I’d give it a go. And sharing my plan here basically forces me to be accountable. can’t write this whole post and then just forget about it. What will the readers say (all 8 of you).

As you can see, I’ve always been into writing poetry. It was my first real writing love. I’ve scribbled notes in numerous journals over the year, and quickly typed ideas that pop into my head on my notes app. In 2019, I decided to start a poetry Instagram. And I managed to maintain it steadily for a few months. But then life and lack of accountability got in the way.

I’ve always been nervous about sharing my poetry. Perhaps because it feels so much more personal. Perhaps because it’s not everyone’s cup of tea. Or maybe it’s because I have no real training in it. But, still, I love to do it and even if one person enjoys it (even if that one person is just me) that makes it all worthwhile.

I’ve been getting better about sharing my poetry. There was the Instagram (we’ll get back to that) and I’ve started to submit to different publications here on Medium.

So, my challenge to myself in April is two-fold. I will write a poem a day and (here’s the real kicker) share those daily.

Here’s how you can follow along in the challenge, if you’re so interested. I will be sharing all new poems in this challenge on my poetry Instagram (and now that you have access, you can see all 95 of my other posts). I will also, share some of my favorites here on Medium, either on my own publication or others. And finally, will do a roundup in my weekly newsletter.

If you want to participate with me, I’d love to see what you’re writing as well! We’re here for good vibes only. No making fun of me.

Happy writing and happy reading!

Subscribe to my weekly newsletter for playlists and more thoughts about music. Subscribe at: http://eepurl.com/hh9T99

--

--