My 8 Favorite Christmas Albums

Adriana Vazquez
Setting The Tone
Published in
5 min readDec 4, 2020

Well, since we’ve hit December already (not totally sure how that happened), I thought I’d share some of my favorite Christmas albums. Christmas is my favorite holiday. I know that sounds cliché but it’s true. I’ve always loved Christmas.

Of course, this year hasn’t totally felt like Christmas, even though I’ve gone through all the motions. I started watching the movies, started decorating, even decided to send out Christmas cards this year (which sounds like something I’d have done all along but this is my first real effort to mail cards out). And yes, of course, I’ve started listening to Christmas music. Hopefully, these albums can inspire you a little bit to get into the Christmas mood, even if things feel totally off like they do for me.

Ella Wishes You a Swinging Christmas

By Ella Fitzgerald

I mean, this album is just perfect. I don’t know what else to say. I feel like the Christmas season doesn’t really start until you hear the intro to her version of Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas. Ella’s silky voice is best paired with a hot beverage, a fire place, and a cozy blanket.

Favorite Song: What Are You Doing New Year’s Eve? (Sure, this isn’t technically a Christmas song and I will listen to it pretty much anytime of the year. This song has gone beyond just being one of my favorite holiday songs to being one of my favorite songs).

Listen on Spotify.

Merry Christmas

By Mariah Carey

Okay, this one may be too obvious but apart from it being a modern classic (although I guess 1994 doesn’t count as modern anymore) it also has some serious childhood memories for me. We used to have this album on tape! Yes, I said on tape. Everyone knows All I Want for Christmas Is You, but are you familiar with Jesus, Born on This Day? Or Miss You Most (At Christmas Time)? I do! And it’s all thanks to that cassette tape. We probably had it on CD as well, which is maybe why we listened to it so much?

Favorite Song: To avoid the obvious, I’ll pick Christmas (Baby, Please Come Home). In my opinion, Mariah Carey’s version is probably the one that comes even slightly close to matching Darlene Love’s original.

Listen on Spotify.

A Very Kacey Christmas

By Kacey Musgraves

Long before the hit album Golden Hour came out, I heard A Very Kacey Christmas. Yes, I realize I’m pulling a “I was into this before it was cool.” Anyways, the point is that Kacey made a very good Christmas album before she won our hearts over with Golden Hour. It’s just a nice, quaint, country-ish holiday album. And in a way I can’t totally describe, feels like the perfect backdrop to an LA Christmas, which is usually where I spend my Christmases.

Favorite Song: Present Without a Bow featuring Leon Bridges

Listen on Spotify

Merry Christmas Lil Mama

By Chance the Rapper and Jeremih

This mixtape came out in 2016 and it’s been on my top Christmas albums ever since. I’m still trying to figure out exactly what defines a mixtape and why Chance doesn’t consider Coloring Book his first album, but that’s another discussion.

Favorite Song: Shoulda Left You. This song is the opposite of Last Christmas. Instead of pining over love lost, the message is “wow, I can’t believe I wasted so much time on you” and I think we all need a little more of that in our lives.

Listen and Download on Sound Cloud

Elf: Music from the Motion Picture

A friend recently asked everyone’s favorite holiday movies. I said Elf was the only correct answer to that question. I stand by this statement. I’m not sure the soundtrack to a movie really counts as a holiday album but I often listen to the album all the way through during the Christmas season. So, it counts in my mind. Plus, Elf introduced me to Zooey Deschanel and is probably responsible for my twee phase.

Favorite Song: Okay, okay, so my favorite songs on this album are the ones that aren’t actually Christmas songs. Nothing from Nothing by Billy Preston and Pennies from Heaven by Louie Prima. But I so associate those songs with this movie that in my mind they are Christmas songs? Also, I have a particular soft spot for Louie Prima but that’s probably a story for another day.

Listen on Spotify

A Charlie Brown Christmas

By the Vince Guaraldi Trio

I mean, come on. Is there anything really to say here? Similar to the Ella album, I recommend listening to while cozy next to a fire, sipping a hot toddy.

Favorite Song: Linus and Lucy. Once again, I’m not sure this counts as a Christmas song but I so associate it with Christmas.

Listen on Spotify

Christmas with Nat King Cole

By Nat King Cole

This is just another classic. We listened to a lot of Nat King Cole growing up. I’d consider Straighten Up and Fly Right one of my all-time favorite songs, a true banger for me in my youth (that is not a joke). So, naturally Nat King Cole Christmas was a common album for us growing up. Nothing, absolutely nothing tops his version of the Christmas Song.

Favorite Song: The Christmas Song

Listen on Spotify

Honorable Mention

A Christmas Album

By Bright Eyes

Okay, if I’m being honest, this album is usually way to sad to listen to. It’s quite nice and there are some songs that are really good for a Christmas playlist but usually when one comes up you just think “wow, I didn’t know Christmas could be so sad.” But guess what, we’ve all learned that Christmas can in fact be that sad. So, I’m telling you that this is probably the best year to listen to the Bright Eyes Christmas Album. Go listen to it and feel your feels about a 2020 Christmas!

Favorite Song: Blue Christmas

Listen on Spotify

For more of my favorite Christmas songs, check out my megamix.

--

--