“Art Is Necessary”: Meet the Creators Behind DC Artists East Auction

The fine art auction celebrates the arts community in Wards 7 and 8

Hayden Higgins
730DC
8 min readSep 10, 2020

--

Tonight, September 10th, ARCH Development will host a live art auction, featuring work by seven different fine artists from Wards 7 and 8.

The works on display — ranging across photography, painting, and mixed media — demonstrate a stunning array of color, ability, and creativity. In “2001: A Space Odd D.C.,” what appears to be a UFO hovering above a Stanley Donwood-esque urban foreground; on closer inspection, the glowing shape is — cleverly, ominously — a pilgrim’s hat with its characteristic buckle. (Speaking of UFOs, here’s Erykah Badu looking a bit like one.) “Moe,” says a deskbound character in another.

These and another dozen are actually already up for auction through Honfleur Gallery. But tonight at 6 pm, you can join the auction live in person or online for a conversation about the artworks and questions facing the arts community.

All of the works come from members of DC Artists East, a site featuring 41 artists who live or work east of the Anacostia River. ARCH Development, “home to projects like Anacostia Arts Cente and rthe Honfleur Gallery,” hosts the auction.

To learn more about the auction and the community of artists behind it, I spoke with a curator, the moderator of tonight’s conversation, and two artists:

What does the DC Artists East site and the East of the River arts community mean to you?

Jess Randolph: The EOR arts community is full of authenticity and Black excellence. I love serving this creative ecosystem because it is a stronghold of true Washingtonian culture. Many who come to DC for political opportunities often say that the District has no culture. I am obsessed with proving them wrong.

Maleke Glee: I don’t like the language “East of the River,” for some it justifies the dismissal and disenfranchisement of the Ward 7 and 8 communities. The barriers are both geographic, but increasingly are social and economic. The Honfleur Gallery, site of DC Artists East Auction means a lot to me. Honfleur brings world-class artistry to a block of majority Black-owned businesses in a majority Black neighborhood. I appreciate the opportunity for art to be enjoyed ass people maneuver their everyday lives, shopping, traveling, and picking up their children from school. The “East of the River” community means the last frontier of gentrification, and as such, a cultural hub.

Victoria Ford: I feel more connected to the DC Arts scene. It’s great to have both the DC Artists East website and the East of the River Arts community because for years artists who resided on East of the River were virtually unknown to me. The site helps me connect to fellow artists within the community.

Isaiah Aladejobi: The east of the river art community represents the stabilization of the culture rooted in communities that have witnessed DC for generations. The DC we know is changing in front of our eyes and what we knew of is only turning into a memory.

The role of the east of the river art community has given light to creatives that tell stories that document our experiences. These experiences can be relevant to those that don’t know how to communicate visually but has a voice to say. Seeing that virtual presence is mandatory to function in this day and age, the East of the River website gives that virtual platform. You can also get inspired by the many artists in the east of the river area. It helps to contribute to the networking opportunities that are offered online.

What’s your favorite part of your artistic process, whether that’s the process of painting or producing or curating a show?

VF: My favorite part of my artistic process is editing my photography. For me, there’s a calming rush I get from culling through the images, reliving the moments that I captured. Deciding which images best represents the artists/subjects I photograph.

IA: Every part of the process is important. Depending on the project, a certain step would have my attention more than the other. Sometimes it’s important to get the inspiration to start the project. I love to get lost, step away from being an artist, and just being. It leaves an open mind for me to explore ideas. Sometimes it’s the production that’s important because, during the making of art, it’s the connection that this is no more an idea but a product of reality. It’s as if you are literally giving birth and just like a child, you want to nurture it. You can call your work he or her if it’s that deep lol. Lastly, sometimes the finished product being showcased is important because you finally get to see, feel, and experience responses from the world. Sometimes you get a response that you didn’t expect and it sparks conversation or inspiration on a topic or subject you never thought to explore.

JR: Producing the auction has been an invigorating experience considering the state of the world.There are so many moving parts — so it’s hard to to share my favorite part. I will say this — collaborating with organizations like yours, A Creative DC, and East City Art has made me hopeful.

MG: As the host of the auction, my favorite part has been meeting all of the artists. Some of the artists I have known for years, and their work has shaped my curatorial practice. For those who I am meeting for the first time, I am excited to learn about their practice. What is most enjoyable about this exhibition is the diversity of mediums on display. There is sure to bee something that everyone.

What are you most excited for with this show and auction?

JR: Stories are what make the world turn. Sharing the experiences of Ward 7 and 8 artists during our upcoming auction is a great way to expose the Capital region to new stories. Each of our participants have been through quite a bit since the pandemic started. I think this auction will bring attention to the issues facing Ward 7 and 8 artists as a whole.

VF: What I’m most excited about is having my photography introduced to a broader audience, as well as being in a group show/auction with all the diverse and amazing artists.

IA: I get to introduce a character that represents me but also the people I grew up with or had short interactions with. I’ve always wanted to create my own character since I was in 1st grade. I used to draw all the cartoons and anime characters but wasn’t introduced the techniques and skills to create my own character. It goes to show how much public schools had invested in the creative field. But fast forward to now, I learned those techniques and skills and focus a lot of my attention on the topic or story. This auction is allowing me to showcase what has been in the works since I was age 7 with a conceptual thinking process of someone in their late 20s.

MG: I am most excited to see the artists sell out! I hope that this show reaches across wards to draw new eyes and attention to artists working within the Ward 7 and 8 communities. I look forward to these artists being introduced to new audiences, and what that will mean for their careers.

What does art mean to you with everything happening in 2020?

VF: Art is a form of expression. And during these times, there are a lot of things that need to be expressed/released.

Art is therapeutic, Art is troubling, Art is healing. Art is necessary.

JR: Art is an expression of the spirit. Art can showcase feelings that cannot be expressed on paper or verbally. Artists, no matter what their discipline may be, share the most intimate parts of themselves for the world to see when they create. I applaud them for their bravery, especially during a time like this.

MG: Art is my home. Quite literally, art fills my home and brings some semblance of imagination to my everyday life. Art also is my figurative home, a refugee, and a safe space. Art is also a tool to document this year, and I challenge myself to produce more work, to write more about how I am feeling, and respond to the world around me.

IA: Art means comfort and intimacy. I got into art because when nothing else is present, I know creating is possible. I feel at peace knowing you can create something that can bring joy, comfort, and can heal. While understanding Intimacy, the craft can be spiritual. It turned a class clown boy into a diligent man. I know God is at work. Art has introduced itself in 2020 to bring comfort and intimacy.

What can be done to advance the artistic movement and support the community here in DC?

JR: Show up. Anacostia Arts Center is home to several Black owned businesses — The HIVE 2.0 houses over 50 different small businesses. The Honfleur Gallery often shows work from SE based artists and DC Artists East is a directory to help patrons find more artists from the region. We have it all! Just stop by.

MG: I think more can be done to support the artistry of Native Washingtonians who may be facing housing crises during the COVID-19 pandemic which has exacerbated more recent issues of housing inequity. Additionally, I think more resources can be developed to document this rich cultural activity, institutions like the D.C. Public Library, HumanitiesDC, and even the Washington City Paper all have a great role in the historicizing local culture. The city and residents with the means to do so should support archives and other repositories. I think before we can advance, we must sustain it. With all the development in D.C., sustainability, especially of the cultural sector, has been an afterthought.

IA: Support Black-owned businesses. It not about the money but making sure the right motives for our people can be placed. Support creative subjects in earlier child care and through high school. I grew up around people that recognize that we were born to create. Support every effort to build communities through love for future generations. We have to equip our future with innovative skills and qualities.

VF: Due to the pandemic, artists need more assistance (i.e., with grants, ways to help connect artists with like minded buyers, etc…) We are all learning to pivot during these times. This is the time where we all need to come together with creative ideas and goals to support the artistic community movement.

Bonus Content: Creative Fuel

What is the food or drink that sustains you?

JR: Black coffee and madeleines.

MG: I too, run on Dunkin’s. Dunkin Donuts Iced Coffe has been a true friend this summer.

VF: Oh boy! I’d have to say Iced Tea….with a splash of bourbon is what sustains me…right now.

IA: French fries, hash browns, and tater tots. Sweet potato fries depending on the spot.

What is the song of your summer?

IA: Jay Rock, “WIN

VF: Another tough question, I have summertime playlists, but if I have to choose just one..I’d say, Buju Banton (feat. Pharrell Williams), “Cherry Pie.”

JR: Sad girl alt r and b anthems + The Melvins

MG: My song of the summer is “Affection” by Summer Walker.

Where do you go in the DMV for inspiration?

IA: Anywhere honestly. I get the feeling that if I get attached to one place, I lose out in seeing the potential in another place.

JR: I absolutely love Eaton DC. I miss being able to go visit and meet creatives.

MG: I venture out for inspiration, Rock Creek Park is a great place for thoughtfulness.

VF: Sometimes I go to the Wharf or National Harbor or anywhere that has a calming body of water.

--

--

Hayden Higgins
730DC
Editor for

here goes nothing. hype @worldresources. about town @730_DC. links ninja @themorningnews. feisty @dcdivest.