Q&A: Asha Elana Casey’s “Traces of Our Spirit”

Hannah Docter-Loeb
730DC
Published in
5 min readJan 31, 2022

--

Artwork by Asha Elana Casey, as featured in “Traces of Our Spirit”

Asha Elana Casey has long been involved with the art world in DC. Born and raised in the District, Casey attended Duke Ellington School for the Arts, a school known for fostering and advancing artistic pursuits. During her time there, she served an artistic residency at the Anderson Ranch Arts Center in Aspen, CO — an experience that helped her realize her potential as an artist.

Casey then enrolled at George Washington University’s School for Fine Arts. There, she learned how to incorporate her identity and Blackness into her work. Since then, she has continued to hone her craft, creating mixed-media masterpieces that investigate and celebrate the spiritual power of the African diaspora. ​​Her latest exhibit, “Traces of my Spirit,” which features 16 works, is currently on display at the Mehari Sequar Gallery on H St NE.

We emailed with Casey to learn more about her exhibit and experiences as an artist.

730DC: How does this exhibit relate back to your previous work/artist statement?

Asha Elana Casey: I think if I think back to my first artist statement, the quote that I most remember is “I found God in myself and loved her fiercely.” I was hyper-concerned with painting Black women as Gods. It was at a time when I needed to heal and feel powerful and seen.

How does it differ?

My current artist statement is more encompassing. I’ve illustrated an existing spiritual landscape. I’ve placed the god self of friends and family into it. I’ve illustrated how I imagine the Orisha (deities) work with me, and I’ve created the aesthetic for the ancestors. It’s an entire cosmogram that I am showcasing through my lens which always excites me. Its also really cool to see how I’ve integrated the folklore in Zora Neale Hurston’s book Mules and Men [an anthropological collection of African-American folklore] and allow it to inspire which materials I utilize.

What else has inspired you to use mixed media?

In undergrad, I was using glue to create textures on my work, but ultimately I decided to move to canvas and strips of canvas. I think it was a natural progression from my printmaking practice which utilizes a lot of collage elements

Where does the title “Traces of My Spirit” come from?

Alani did something called Book Tarot. We were talking on the phone and she was grabbing books. We both have read the book Flash of the Spirit and so she turned to a page and read a few quotes to me. And, Traces of the spirit stuck out to me. We then changed it to Traces of My Spirit. Which when thinking about my solo shows they all show progression:

Spirit Rises, When Watching God, and Traces of my Spirit

You mention Alani–who is that/have they played a role in your artistic career beyond that anecdote?

Alani is the curator of the exhibition and the editor of the catalog. She is brilliant and really understands my work! I am happy that I got the opportunity to work with her and I just know we’ll work together again.

What do you hope people will get from the exhibit?

I hope that people will see themselves in the work, literally because of the mirror but symbolically because I think we are all placed here to grow and evolve.

What inspires your art-making process?

A lot. It ranges from stories about the Orisha. To stories about my ancestors. To stories about my friends/subjects and who they are. I am really excited to start making work about other people’s ancestors and weaving it into their God self portraits. This feels like just the beginning of my theoretical framework.

How has your work been influenced by your upbringing in DC?

I think mainly going to Ellington has framed my practice. I would be a psychologist if I wasn’t an artist, but going to the Anderson Ranch changed my perspective on being an artist. It made me feel like it was a possible option for me.

Can you elaborate a bit more on your time at Anderson Ranch?

Anderson Ranch was a special time for me. I was chosen to go from my high school and it was really cool to be amongst adult artists and to learn with them. I enjoyed learning about printmaking and making my own paintings. It was a great experience for me.

How did your time at the Corcoran School at GWU influence your artmaking?

While at the Corcoran, I was challenged to not reimagine the European canon of portraiture and Christian iconography but to instead find stories about African gods and my upbringing. I was challenged to center my practice in Blackness. This was only reinforced by working at an African-centered school.

What’s next for you after this exhibition?

I’m still seeing what solidifies but, I’m excited for all the good things and for my career to grow larger and larger.

What advice would you give to aspiring visual artists?

When it’s your time to make art, to be recognized for your art or to commit to your craft financially, the energy shifts around you and you are in alignment, everything feels different around you. So, I think its important to commit to your dream and vision, and work until it falls into place. Because it will.

Is there anything else you think is important to share about yourself, your work, or just anything in general?

I think the last thing I would add is to just continue to believe in yourself and make it so that you can be the greatest iteration of yourself.

“Traces Of My Spiritl” is on display until March 6. For those who are unable to visit in person, Mehari Sequar Gallery has provided virtual viewing room access, which can be found here.

--

--