Dispatches from 2120: A comic

Josh Kramer
730DC
Published in
1 min readAug 20, 2020

This comic is a companion to our newsletter series, Dispatches from 2120. This comic is set in the world of the newsletter, one hundred years from now, and was drawn and improvised one panel at a time by Josh Kramer, telling the story of a civil servant trying to make the biggest decision of his life.

You can read the comic at 730dc’s Instagram. You can read them all here, although out of order. Each one has multiple images, so make sure to click though. The posts used to be embedded here but that may have looked like spam to Medium, so they have been removed.

Why a comic? In addition to being someone who writes newsletters about the future, I’m a cartoonist! I mostly work in nonfiction, writing and drawing true comics like this. But I wanted to try something a little different for this project. My comics are typically extremely planned out and researched, and I thought it might be fun to make something up one panel at a time. Reading it only takes a few moments, and I hope you enjoy it. Thanks!

--

--