Q&A with Randy Downs, Candidate for Ward 2 Councilmember

Hayden Higgins
730DC
Published in
8 min readOct 13, 2020

Let’s start with full disclosure: I worked alongside Randy Downs in 2014–2015 as a partner of the Sierra Club in youth climate organizing campaigns, and in 2016 was also employed at Sierra Club, where Downs works, though we didn’t work together then.

That’s how I know Downs— as someone who works with and believes in the power of young people to meet perhaps the greatest challenge any human generation has ever faced.

That’s trying to make a difference on the biggest imaginable scale. But Downs has also worked to make a difference in his neighborhood, and now he’s hoping to represent it on the DC Council.

A Dupont-area Advisory Neighborhood Commissioner and member of the ANC Rainbow Caucus, Downs had a strong focus on local business, youth and transportation. He was one of the main champions of the forthcoming 17th Street protected bike lanes, helped spearhead the neighborhood’s COVID-era “streateries,” and pushed to protect LGBTQ tenants.

I sent Randy some questions so that 730DC readers could get to know his candidacy — including what he liked and didn’t like from the Council last session, how he differentiates himself from the sitting Councilmember, and how he’d ideally celebrate a campaign win.

730DC: Obviously there was a quite closely-contested Democratic primary and special election earlier this spring. Why are we seeing your name now but not before? What did you learn from that contest?

Randy Downs: I view this election, and the choice Ward 2 voters have, as a decision based on values. I wasn’t initially planning to run in this election. However, after seeing the results of the Democratic primary, many residents approached me to run. They want a Councilmember they can trust, who knows the community and the issues residents are facing.

I have been a life-long Democrat, working to elect Claire McCaskill as Senator from my home state of Missouri and even flipping burgers with Barack Obama when he came to Missouri. However, Ward 2 residents needed me to enter this race to challenge the Democratic primary winner. Ward 2 deserves ethical, bold leadership on the DC Council. Ward 2 deserves someone who understands the unique challenges of the Ward, with a track record of serving this community. I aim to make Ward 2 more equitable and accessible for all.

One key lesson from the primary is the great importance of moving to a ranked-choice voting system in DC. The winner of the primary had only 28% of the vote in a 7-way race. I believe ranked choice voting will give us stronger leadership, and as Councilmember I will work to institute ranked choice voting in DC.

730DC: What do you want Ward 2 voters to know about your background and the skills and experiences you’d bring to office?

RD: I grew up in rural Missouri at the end of a gravel dirt road. My father was a self-employed carpenter and my mother worked in a meat processing factory. To make ends meet, I worked in a restaurant starting at age 13. Growing up, I learned a lot about inequities and how policies at the local level could do more to help families like mine. These experiences in my formative years led to my interest in public service.

In 2011, I moved to the District and finally found a home where I could be my authentic self as a queer man. I fell in love with my Dupont Circle community, volunteering at many organizations like the DC Center for the LGBTQ Community and Whitman Walker.

I then decided to seek elected office. I ran for Advisory Neighborhood Commissioner and won. Now in my second term as Commissioner, I have gained extensive experience building consensus between and working with residents, government agencies, advocates, and businesses to get things done.

I am very proud of my accomplishments on the Advisory Neighborhood Commission (ANC), including my successful efforts to work with Ward 2 residents to implement protected bike lanes on 17th and 20/21st Streets. As ANC Commissioner I also advocated for affordable housing for LGBTQ seniors and was a founding member of the Rainbow Caucus for LGBTQ elected officials in DC.

During the pandemic, I partnered with local small businesses to help them stay open and keep their workers employed. I pioneered DC’s “strEATery” model for expanded outdoor dining on 17th Street, working with the businesses I represent and DC agencies. I also led the effort to expand sidewalks in the area for safe social distancing.

After four years as an ANC Commissioner, I know the ins and outs of our government and how to navigate it to deliver results to residents. I am excited to bring my knowledge and experience to DC Council.

730DC: How would you distinguish yourself from Councilmember Pinto in terms of policy and policymaking?

RD: A key policy area where there is a difference between Councilmember Pinto and I is the issue of public safety and racial justice. As Councilmember, I will work to end the racist, invasive policing tactic of stop and frisk. Councilmember Pinto was the only candidate who refused to oppose this racist tactic during the primary. (Editor’s Note: Pinto gave what DCist called “shifting answers” on stop-and-frisk during the primary. She recently tweeted “I am not in favor of stop and frisk.”) Since taking office, she has requested more US Park Police patrol our Ward. These are the same federal police that tear gassed residents so that Donald Trump could cross Lafayette Square for a photo opportunity.

I believe the District should approach public safety with policies that are based on evidence. We should not entrust the safety of our communities with purely reactive measures but instead, invest in preventing crime and violence before they start. As Councilmember, I will reallocate resources from police to underfunded, highly needed services that are backed by evidence showing their effectiveness in reducing violence and crime. These include: mental health, social work, and crisis intervention services, violence interruption programs, and homelessness street outreach services to help people apply for housing and needed documentation.

Another difference between Councilmember Pinto and I are our approaches to transportation issues. On the Dupont Circle ANC, I successfully advocated for building more protected bike lanes on 17th and 20th & 21st Streets. I’m excited that the 20th & 21st Street project broke ground the week of October 5th. I believe we must continue to build sustainable transportation infrastructure that drives equity in our city and keeps everyone safe. On the other hand, residents have raised concerns that Councilmember Pinto’s involvement in key transportation projects has served as an obstacle, such as with the recently delayed car-free lanes on 7th Street.

730DC: We definitely champion millennial agency in city politics, but I have to admit there is something surprising about seeing so many people my age or even younger running for Council. I don’t feel like I, personally, am old enough to have the wisdom to take on something so huge. But at the same time I absolutely believe that saying, from June Jordan I think, that “we are the ones we have been waiting for.” So I’d just like to know if that’s something you’ve thought about and how you’d put it for other younger-ish people reading this who might be trying to figure out how they contribute to our civic progress.

RD: Having been on the ANC with many incredibly strong younger leaders, I believe we need more and more younger people in all positions of our government. Younger people can see new ways of doing things in government and in our city that older generations may not have considered, but that can benefit everyone. Running for ANC is a great way to enter politics as a young person. I am always happy to talk to anyone considering a run to give some pointers and share my experience!

I also believe it’s particularly important for LGBTQ youth and youth of color to lead. There’s currently no openly LGBTQ Councilmember, and no openly LGBTQ individual has ever held the Ward 2 seat. Many of our LGBTQ youth are in crisis. Of youth experiencing homelessness in DC, a whopping 40% identify as LGBTQ. I agree that “We are the ones we have been waiting for,” and as younger generations we need to continuously challenge the status quo when it’s just not working.

730DC: What was the worst thing the Council did last session?

RD: The budget process was incredibly chaotic and disorganized. If you watched it, you saw a whole lot of confusion and bickering between Councilmembers that frankly should not have been happening, especially during a pandemic when our city is in great need. As a result, amendments were passed and then repealed in a matter of days. People were scared the programs they thought were safe would end up on the chopping block and they were frantically scrambling to beg for funding. I believe our Council owes residents more professionalism and security than what occurred in this year’s budget process.

730DC: The best?

RD: Although there’s so much more to be done in this area, I was glad to see the Council pass some legislation holding MPD accountable. This year the Council banned the use of chokeholds and neck restraints by police and special police. The new law requires the release of body-worn camera footage after any officer-involved death or serious use of force within 72-hours and requires the release of footage from past shootings. It also bans MPD from hiring officers fired for/ who resigned because of misconduct. However, there are a lot of issues with enforcement still, and more policies are needed to ensure our policing is evidence-based and free from bias. There are specific enforcement issues related to the part of the law that prohibits police from using tear gas, pepper spray, riot gear, rubber bullets, and stun grenades in response to First Amendment protests. The law is in effect but we’ve seen MPD continue to use some of these tactics, so I am interested in oversight over these issues.

730DC: I’m thinking about some of the recent Council battles of the Bowser era, things like Initiative 77, paid family leave and the fight for $15, decriminalizing sex work, the Clean Energy DC push, now the conversation around defunding the police, there are lots of others…I’m just wondering if there are one or two of those fights where you feel like if you had been on the Council you might have tipped the scales, one way or the other?

RD: I can imagine serving as a leader on many of these initiatives. Having spent my entire career as a climate advocate at the Sierra Club, I know I would play a large role in the Clean Energy DC push. I believe we needed to act years ago to prevent climate change and its harmful effects. I’m proud to have advocated for a 100% sustainable community center at Stead Park which will break ground early next year. As councilmember, I will ensure DC meets its clean energy and sustainability goals. I would like to serve on the Committee on Transportation and the Environment to continue our efforts towards 100% sustainability and climate resiliency.

Quick Hits

What committee would you be most excited to be assigned to?

Committee on Transportation and the Environment

Let’s pretend there’s no COVID. Where would you hold your ideal victory party?

Block party on 17th street with food and drinks from all of the great 17th Street restaurants and bars.

What is the most fun thing you’d do as Councilmember?

Organize community movie nights in parks throughout Ward 2!

--

--

Hayden Higgins
730DC
Editor for

here goes nothing. hype @worldresources. about town @730_DC. links ninja @themorningnews. feisty @dcdivest.