The Church for the Hood

Sahar Roodehchi
730DC
Published in
3 min readOct 7, 2021
Photo by Caleb Fisher on Unsplash

The Stones House is not like your typical church — it proudly calls itself “the church for the hood.” On a street corner in Southeast, services start with performances from live DJs, groceries are distributed to the community, and hip-hop and go-go music are incorporated into worship.

The Stones House asserts that it is “Where the Stones Live that The Builders Rejected” and welcomes those who may be excluded from other church services, including people with substance abuse disorders or those impacted by the justice system. And the space provides much-needed community outreach, as D.C. launches policing initiatives to be “tougher on crime,” and makes parole and clemency more difficult for those who are incarcerated in the district.

730DC learned more about the community service organization and faith community from Pastor Curtis Thomas III, who co-founded the church.

This interview took place over email and has not been edited.

Can you tell me more about The Stones House?

The Stones House is a Church for the hood. No walls. Live DJ with a 16 year old DJ, with ministers who are ex convicts, ex drug addicts, ex gang bangers who Rap for worship while the hood, drug dealers and addicts are present. Its bringing hope to the Hood. In the midst of the Rap worship we are giving out coats, clothes, food, bibles, Toys etc.

What gave you the idea for The Stones House?

The Idea of creating the Stones House came from me growing up in the hood, watching my mom on welfare, and How the church hurt me. The Pastor and her family seem to live good off our tithes and offerings while my mom struggled for every penny, I didnt want a Church that ask for money all the time. I wanted a Church that gave back to the community with the appeal of hip hop that draws the youth.

How did it get started?

It got started years ago being in Gospel gogo bands for years to reach the hood. I got ordained as a Pastor and I knew I wasnt going to have that typical church. My Wife also inspired me to start because she has a powerful voice and I wanted to create a platform for her to speak as well.

How do you incorporate music, like hip hop and go go, into your worship?

Worship is simply offering to God. You can worship with anything. Including HipHop and Gogo. So instead of having choirs, singers and Pianist we have a DJ and Rappers that start off our services.

How has COVID affected your work?

None at all. Because all of our services are outside we have no restrictions other then wear your mask.

What do you want people to know about your work?

I just want to let people know that we are the church for the hood. Not the church for the upper class. We accept homeless, Drug dealers, Gangsters, ex felons, pants sagging, dreads, weed smokers, the fatherless child. You are a Stone, and you dont need to be a member to be apart. Just come and be apart.

You mentioned that you’re working on a building for homeless teens. Can you tell me more about that project?

Wow, That’s my vision. I dont even remember telling anyone about that. I want to purchase a building for homeless teens. I have a couple of teens that are homeless I talk to regularly. They just need a start.

You can support The Stones House by volunteering, and don’t need to be a member to volunteer. Donations can be sent via Cash App to $Thestoneshousedc.

This article is part of our 2021 contribution to the DC Homeless Crisis Reporting Project in collaboration with other local newsrooms. The collective works will be published throughout the day at DCHomelessCrisis.press. You can also join the public Facebook group or follow #DCHomelessCrisis on Twitter to discuss further.

--

--