A New Form of Puritanism if Hiding Behind Tantra

Do we need to use and misappropriate another culture to accept our sexual nature?

Hakima T A N T R I K A
SEX Letters

--

Photo by János Szüdi on Unsplash

Each time I tell people that Tantra has nothing to do with sexuality, I get attacked. They look at me with disgust and scream: “You’re so puritanical, grow up, sex is good.”

The comments on my latest article “Is Tantra Yoga a “Sexual Yoga” or Not?” said it all: I’m labeled as a puritan.

Later on, those same people would check my profile and see all of my other writing. I have been writing freely about sex since 2020, and they then understood they misjudged me.

They would come back, apologize, and start questioning their initial reaction.

This is the sweet point when they are finally ready to hear my point: classical Tantra has nothing to do with sex.

Therefore, I can write straightforwardly about sex without it being related to Tantra and write about classical Tantra, highlighting that Tantra doesn’t equal sex.

We do have a big problem with sexuality in our Western culture.

Puritanism has been so deeply ingrained in our Judeo-Christian culture that we have decided to fight against it by “throwing stones” at…

--

--

Hakima T A N T R I K A
SEX Letters

Scholar-practitioner of Classical Tantra with 15 years' experience, launching Quantum Tantra, a 3-month online program for the down-to-earth spiritual seekers