Shutterstock

Our Fear of Cheating is Rooted in Insecurity

My follow-up to my viral article about cheating. I address reader comments as well.

Veronica Sully
Sex, Love and Relationships
5 min readFeb 4, 2024

--

No one likes to talk about cheating. It’s a taboo, uncomfortable topic that makes people squirm in their chairs at the mere mention. Why is this? In addition to it being uncomfortable, it’s one of the most polarizing topics to discuss outside of politics.

What do I mean by this? I recently wrote an article entitled “It’s not cheating if you can’t get it at home.” This article blew up on Medium with thousands of reads daily and more comments than I could keep up with. I did read them all but to respond to all of them would take me forever. The comments are polarizing as is the topic of cheating. Don’t believe me? Check out the article here and scroll through the comments.

Pretty nuts, right? Some people agree wholeheartedly with me, while others think I’m an absolute monster. So why is this? I have a theory. But before I get into it, I want to address some of the main comment themes here, rather than address every…

--

--

Veronica Sully
Sex, Love and Relationships

Author and blogger of relationships, sexuality, sex, cheating, and adultery. Sexologist and student of life.