An Intro to Sex Tech

Grace Santos-Murphy
Sex Tech Says
Published in
2 min readDec 30, 2019

19th July 2019 was kind of a cool day. It was the first day, probably ever, where I can say I brought my full self to work, like 100%. I gave a presentation on a topic that is close to my heart, and not one usually discussed in the usual office environment. In fact, it’s still pretty taboo and not safe for work. Well, I like a challenge, so…

LET’S TALK ABOUT SEX (TECH), BABY.

I’ve wanted to do a talk like this for a really long time, but I’ve always been far too worried about what people will think. Will they think I’m just obsessed with sex and an absolute nymphomaniac? Will I still be able to look my colleagues in the eye after outrightly admitting to them that I masturbate? Could I get fired for saying orgasm & clitoris that many times in the office, especially to a room predominantly full of men? (I suffer with GAD, so I’m pretty used to dealing with these anxious spirals btw).

But I’m trying to be a lot braver recently and dedicating more time on the stuff I really care about. There are a few mantras I’ve been trying to channel: Brave not Perfect, Courage over Comfort, and doing this talk felt like a great first step in the right direction.

You can see a recording of my talk below (it’s only 5 mins!). It’s an Intro to Sex Tech, the problems it’s solving and some of the cool tech emerging in that space. Let me know what you think and if you’re interested in more content like this!

--

--

Grace Santos-Murphy
Sex Tech Says

Product Manager in London. I’m interested in mental health, feminism and sex tech. I’m a blogger and all views are my own.