Quickie: What Role Do Pets Play in Couple Cohabitation?

What the fur baby wants, the fur baby gets

Kiki Wellington
Sex…With a Side of Quirk

--

A man and a woman in bed with a dog
Photo by peus on DepositPhotos

I had a cat for 17 years and at times, she was a better judge of character than I was. If someone came around that she didn’t like, most of the time it was not mere jealousy over that person encroaching on her time with me; it was usually because she could sense something in that person that she knew I should stay away from.

I can think of several times I wished I had listened to her more carefully.

With this in mind, it didn’t surprise me to learn that, according to a survey of 2,000 people who live with their partner conducted by Lemonade, of the 35 percent who owned a pet before moving in, 53 percent admitted that unless their pet gave their partner a seal of approval, there would be no moving in together.

What the fur baby wants, the fur baby gets.

Luckily for these couples, the situation wasn’t as dire as all that. Many couples are able to co-exist peacefully with a pet, so 74 percent say they currently own a pet and 48 percent of them obtained their pet together as a couple.

And in most cases, those who already had a pet when they met their partner ended up with a happy ending as well, with 78 percent saying they happily co-parent their pet with…

--

--