The Amityville Horny: How ‘The Amityville Horror’ Led Me to Erotica Writing

The house said to get out, but the muse’s desire was all in

Kiki Wellington
Sex…With a Side of Quirk

--

Photo by MovieStillsDB

When you ask many indie erotica authors what inspired them to start writing sexy stories, they’ll tell you Fifty Shades of Grey*. And it’s no wonder: This trilogy by E.L. James was wildly popular when it came out in 2012, and it inspired many people to both read and write erotica.

But my muse is a lot less sexy. If you ask me where I got my inspiration to start writing erotica, I’ll sum it up in three words: The Amityville Horror. And I’m sure this is when you scratch your head and ask how.

It was a dark and stormy night.

I know, I know, that sounds corny. But bear with me because in this case, it happens to be true. It really was a dark and stormy night — the perfect night to go out with the family for a fright at a horror movie. At least my mother thought so, and she decided to go see the hot, new horror movie everyone was talking about with a little Kiki Wellington in tow.

I was a little kid witnessing bloody toilets, terrorized priests, and a whole lot of flies.

--

--