A Case For Sleeping With Your Friends

Sex doesn’t always complicate or change things—at least not for the worse

Ena Dahl
Sexography
Published in
8 min readAug 12, 2020

--

Don’t mix sex and friendship, they say. Sex complicates things, they continue.

These are the truths we’re being told and they continue to be the generally accepted views on this topic. But does it have to be this way? Does sex always alter a friendship? And, if so, does that necessarily have to be a bad thing?

Sex and friendship can mix

What if I told you that it doesn’t? What if I said that I know very well, from experience, that it’s more than possible to mix the two without screwing up either?

Well, that’s exactly what I’m here to say.

I didn’t always think this way. In my past of long term, monogamous relationships, sex was a private affair, between two people, behind closed doors. The sex I had wasn’t bad, per se, but there wasn’t much variety or exploration involved, plus, with little previous experience and I was too shy to take initiative to change that. My sex life didn’t contribute to my growth or vice versa. Not the way it does now.

Sex with one partner can absolutely be fulfilling and enriching, and it’s perfectly ok to not want anything else. For the longest time, I never…

--

--

Ena Dahl
Sexography

Multidisciplinary creatrix; conscious kink & sensuality coach, educator, author, energy worker & rope (s)witch.