All The Condoms at the Grocery Store Are Too Big For Me

Why it matters

Dana Spore
Sexography

--

Eggplant? Not quite. Photo by Mockup Graphics on Unsplash (cropped)

I asked the last person I dated if my penis was the smallest she’d seen. As foolish as it may have been to ask that question, I appreciated her honest “yes”, confirming my suspicions about my size, since I don’t see a lot of erect penises in the wild.

The average boner is apparently 5–6 inches long; mine’s 5, so not exactly a micropenis. Still, when I’m flaccid I’m hung like Michelangelo’s David at best, and sometimes the head just pokes straight out of my abdomen as if I had no shaft. Let’s just say it doesn’t inspire me to strut around confidently at clothing-optional hot springs.

I could write an essay about the cultural fixation on penis size, mostly among men — an insecurity that plagues many of us. It sucks to feel bad about your body due to an irrational cultural obsession about something you can’t control.

However, I’m not writing to complain about that. When I think about all the ways women’s bodies have been scrutinized, controlled, and violated by men, I realize I don’t have it so bad. I’ve never felt like my dick size has put me in danger or led to harassment. The people I’ve slept with have never seemed to mind very much anyway. (Even though she said I was the smallest she’d been with, that girlfriend still initiated a lot of sex with…

--

--

Dana Spore
Sexography

Thoughts on sexuality, drugs, and other topics that aren’t always perfectly comfortable to talk about. sporedana@gmail.com