Billie Eilish on Body Positivity, Objectification, and Rape Culture

“Don’t make me not a role model because you’re turned on by me”

Eszter Brhlik
Sexography

--

Billie Eilish on Instagram

“It’s All About What Makes You Feel Good”

Billie Eilish exploded the internet with her Instagram pictures: she almost hit 20 million likes within one day after sharing them. Billie posed in sexy corsets after covering her body in baggy clothes for years.

Does the transformation make any difference in what she stands for?

The role model talks about body positivity, objectification, and rape culture in her interview with Vogue.

“A Mid-30’s Wine Mom Body.”

Billie Eilish was famous for hiding her body: she didn’t want to show it to strangers. Still, without anybody knowing how she looked like, she faced a tremendous body-shaming.

“If I wear what is comfortable, I am not a woman. If I shed the layers, I’m a slut,” she says. “Though you’ve never seen my body, you still judge it, and judge me for it. Why?”

When a paparazzi caught the artist on camera in October 2020, people were very much concerned about Billie’s body.

--

--