But Women Don’t Orgasm Like That

TV execs, stop portraying women’s sexuality so ignorantly.

Sarah Stroh
Sexography

--

Catherine Reitman at TEDxToronto — Photo by Joshua Best, CC BY 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Let me preface this article by saying, I love Catherine Reitman, and I love sitting in bed, turning my brain off, and watching an episode or two of Workin’ Moms, the Netflix show she created and stars in.

The show can only be described as feminist given Reitman’s role and its funny female leads.

But I have a bone to pick with this show. And that bone lies in the storyline of the last episode I saw. Somehow in this episode, this “feminist” show manages to set us back decades in its portrayal of women’s sexuality. Here’s what happens. (Spoiler alert!)

In the episode, one of the show’s newer characters Sloane, a single and pregnant high-powered publishing executive, goes for an ultrasound. And the ultrasound technician just happens to be this cute guy she’d randomly kissed in another episode, on a dare.

What a coincidence!

After she lies down on the medical bed, Sexy Technician announces that he must give Sloane a “transvaginal” ultrasound because it’s “too early” to do a normal belly one.

He sticks the wand up her vagina, and as it’s there, the two of them have a nice chat. When he’s finished, they make eye contact as he removes the wand from…

--

--

Sarah Stroh
Sexography

For a freer, sexier, less lonely world. IG: monogamish_me. Coaching, free weekly email and more - > https://linktr.ee/monogamish_me