Coregasms: Could Exercise Help Close the Orgasm Gap?

Anne Shark
Sexography
Published in
6 min readMar 6, 2021

--

This orgasm doesn’t require a man — real or fantasy

Photo by Oleg Magni from Pexels

When I was a kid, I took gymnastics classes. I loved tumbling where I would bend my body in all sorts of shapes, rolling and flipping across the floor. I loved the vault where I could spring up and over at heights I couldn’t reach from the ground.

But what I loved most of all were the uneven bars. It wasn’t just those moments of weightlessness as I tossed my body between the bars though. It was also the tingly feeling I felt, deep in my lower belly when I held myself up, my legs hanging, my core engaged. It was a feeling that built and built until it exploded into utter bliss.

Maybe some of you know what I’m talking about. Yes, I had my first orgasms during gymnastics class in front of twenty other kids and my coach.

This experience is common enough to have a nickname: Coregasm

A coregasm, or Exercise-Induced Orgasm (EIO), is “an experience some women have with having orgasms while they engage in physical exercises such as sit-ups, biking/spinning, pull-ups, chin-ups, and other exercises.”

Men can experience this phenomenon too, but it seems to be more common with women. Considering the orgasm gap, (the fact that in straight…

--

--

Anne Shark
Sexography

Polyamorous and sex-positive essayist, poet, and over-thinker.