Do Your Kids Need To Know About Your Kink Lifestyle?

Raising kids in a sex and kink positive home

Zara Everly
Sexography

--

Photo by Paulette Vautour on Unsplash

The conversation happened easily and naturally enough. My adult child told me that they were on this kink site called Fetlife as they had an interest in kink.

Oh shit, I thought.

Coming out as kinky

I knew this would happen one day. If I had found my way onto Fetlife, why would I think my child would not do that as well?

I told her that I knew about the site and that I was an active member. Not only am I an active member but I am fairly visible. I have had people recognize me from my presence a couple of times already.

If I didn’t tell her myself, she could find out on her own.

I am not ashamed of my activity there. I started writing about sex on that site and have cultivated a good-sized following. I have taken and posted erotic self-portraits and I have thoroughly enjoyed doing so especially since it has enabled me to have a better body image.

I have made some invaluable friends and I have learned quite a lot. I have no reason to feel ashamed.

I am a sexual woman who also happens to be a parent.

--

--

Zara Everly
Sexography

Writing and research information professional. Bibliophile. Forever English major. Literary harlot.