I Got Sexuality Wrong — And It Taught Me To Do Better

Understanding the positivity of non-binary lifestyles

Dayon Cotton
Sexography

--

Photo by Jessica Felicio on Unsplash

Years ago, when I was younger and dumber, I got my first real taste of non-binary sexuality. I was in my early 20s and, like many men around that age, I wasn’t ready for the conversation that was about to unfold.

My then-girlfriend opened up to me about a personal subject that had been on her mind for some time. In typical guy fashion, I told her to talk about it. As her boyfriend, I wanted her to feel comfortable opening up to me. That’s what good boyfriends do, right?

So she did.

“So…this might sound a bit awkward, but I’m curious about women.”

“Curious? Curious how?’

“Curious as in…I want to have sex with a woman. I know we’re together, but I have always been curious about what being in a relationship with a woman would be like.”

“Wait…so do you want to have sex with a woman…or be in a relationship with one?

“Honestly a bit of both. I like guys…but I think there’s something attractive about women too.”

I didn’t realize it at the time but that was my first time being personally introduced to bisexuality.

--

--

Dayon Cotton
Sexography

I write dope articles about social issues, life lessons, and living a better life, dayon1020@gmail.com, Follow My Twitter! @dayoncotton00, Active Duty US Navy