I Just Found Out I’m a Heteroromantic Bisexual

Grappling with the complexities of bisexuality and the value of labels

Ena Dahl
Sexography
Published in
7 min readSep 21, 2020

--

As a cisgender, straight-passing woman, the vast majority would look at me and pin me as that: Straight.

But, I’m not.

Friends and family, even those who know that I’ve had (and have) intimate relationships with women too, would likely say that I’m straight, or at least, mostly straight.

This is still not true.

And while I do have to come out, again and again, I do acknowledge the obvious privilege of being able to pass straight while still being allowed to openly explore my sexuality without shame or fear. While repeatedly telling my mother I’m not straight is irritating, I won’t pretend for a second that I’ve had to fight the same battles as my so many of my LGBTQI friends.

I suppose it’s more of a blessing than a curse.

Still, since we’re right in the middle of Bisexual Awareness Week (#BiWeek) with Celebrate Bisexuality Day this Wednesday the 23rd of September, I thought this was a good time to dig deeper into the topic. I’ve been grappling with my own bi-ness lately and have been putting thought into which words and terminology best describe my feelings around my sexuality.

--

--

Ena Dahl
Sexography

Multidisciplinary creatrix; conscious kink & sensuality coach, educator, author, energy worker & rope (s)witch.