Is Anal More Intimate Than ‘Regular’ Sex?

Why I won’t let ‘just anyone’ into my most sacred of spaces…

Ena Dahl
Sexography
Published in
5 min readDec 9, 2020

--

For someone who really enjoys anal sex, I’ve hardly written about it. The truth is, when it’s right, it happens to be one of my favorite sex acts, but, akin to a gourmet meal, it’s not one I indulge in every time I work up an appetite. Not only would that cause it to lose its appeal, but, that good stuff requires both extensive preparation, as well as the right company to enjoy it with. And if not done well, the whole thing could turn into an utter disaster!

Sex, in general, is as physically intimate as you can get with another person, and, to me, anal sex is the most intimate of all. While our bumholes have been given all sorts of disgraceful nicknames and euphemisms, the only one I’d use from this linked list is mystery-zone: “Behold the inner sanctum. Only those deemed worthy may enter.”

I know, I may sound like I’m joking, but I’m not. Anal sex is near sacred to me. Let me try to explain why…

The anus and rectum are incredibly sensitive

First, with one of the densest concentrations of nerve endings, the external anal sphincter is one of the most sensitive parts of the human body. You, therefore, don’t even have to go inside to experience a…

--

--

Ena Dahl
Sexography

Multidisciplinary creatrix; conscious kink & sensuality coach, educator, author, energy worker & rope (s)witch.