Money Can't Buy You Love, But Can It Buy You Better Sex?

Not if you are an “emasculated woman”

Carlyn Beccia
Sexography
Published in
6 min readApr 2, 2022

--

Money can’t buy you love
Artwork: ©Carlyn Beccia | www.CarlynBeccia.com

If there is one trait that makes men run for the hills, it is when they learn I have been playacting the starving artist. I live a threadbare life and avoid ostentation, so it's easy for most people to get that impression.

I also don't carry any debt. My house is paid off. I went to school on a full academic scholarship. And I always buy a car outright. Now, I am saving every penny so my two kids can go to school without loans.

Unfortunately, my financial security scares the fuck out of most men.

But I am not the only woman with a dangerous level of autonomy. We are approaching the end of hypergamy as we know it. Gone are the days of a woman having less education than her husband. Women now outnumber men on college campuses 4 to 3. And it is not only happening in the US. A 2016 study predicted that women will have more education than men in nearly every country by 2050.

Women are also closing the wage gap in their marriages. According to US consensus data, 30 percent of married women make more than their husbands, and that number is growing each year.

But as more women bound ahead in their careers and build financial security, something sinister is happening…

--

--

Carlyn Beccia
Sexography

Award-winning author of 13 books. My latest: 10 AT 10: The Surprising Childhoods of 10 Remarkable People, MONSTROUS: The Lore, Gore, & Science. CarlynBeccia.com