Sex as a Man Post-Roe

What once was pure joy and pleasure is now fraught with worry and consequence. Yet for women, that’s always been the case.

Scott Gilman
Sexography

--

Photo by Carles Rabada on Unsplash

During the height of pandemic isolation, the year between the arrival of Covid-19 and getting vaccinated, I wondered, as I spent day after day and night after night alone, without seeing anyone, without touching anyone, what first-time post-pandemic sex would be like.

How it would feel to be in the same bed with someone, much less the same room. To touch someone’s skin. To be naked and vulnerable, to kiss, to share my body with someone else, to experience pleasure with someone else through our bodies.

Turns out it was pretty great.

Now I wonder what it will be like to have sex for the first time after the Supreme Court stripped away the constitutional right to reproductive choice, especially in a state where abortion became illegal last night.

I’ll cut directly to the chase: I think of the moment of no return, when orgasm for me becomes inevitable and beyond my control. And instead of soaking in the experience and pleasure, instead I’ll think, am I about to change my partner’s life and body forever—in a way she doesn’t want?

--

--

Scott Gilman
Sexography

Thinking and writing about my place in the world, and making myself (and the world) a little bit better. I can be reached at scottmgilman@gmail.com.