The Allure of the Forbidden

Zoe Naz
Sexography
Published in
4 min readFeb 6, 2024

--

Created by Author in MIdjourneyv6

“The mistake was prohibiting the apple. If they had prohibited the serpent, Adam would have eaten the serpent.” — Anonymous

Much like the quote suggests, the desire for what is off-limits has captivated me since I was a child. When I was told I could not have candy, I would stealthily climb the cupboard and sneak in more than my daily allowance.

When I was told not to wear shorts by my strict father, I tucked a pair in my backpack on the way out the door.

As an adult, when confronting the stigma that many still hold about pole dancing, I decided to give it a whirl.

And don’t get me started with the bedroom. If something is taboo, I’ve probably fantasized about it.

Chances are, you too have had moments of rebellion. It’s human, after all. Like me, you might wonder if this is ‘catholic school girl syndrome’ at its finest, or something more deeply rooted in the human psyche.

Religion has long portrayed the forbidden as a trap laid by dark forces. It is not uncommon to read religious articles that say, “Remember that Satan is crafty. He is desiring to destroy you. Discourage you. Draw you away from God. And that craftiness means he will spin webs of lies that trap you. Every whisper of temptation is attacking your trust in God.”

--

--

Zoe Naz
Sexography

Writer | Provocative ideas on sex, relationships & culture | Lover of darkness, duality, and depth / https://www.instagram.com/edgesofzoe/