The Myth of “Not Getting Caught”

OPSEC and other Lies

MonalisaSmiled
Sexography

--

By Kaspri on Shutterstock

We believe in OPSEC (operational security — aka, how we cover up our shady shit).

We cover our tracks. We have burner phones. Our real phones are on lockdown. Hidden folders. Secret apps. Make excuses after excuses to hide time. We whisper to our lovers from the bathroom or outside our home. We text incessantly.

We lie.

Sometimes it works. Sometimes it doesn’t.

Let’s compare OPSEC to driving.

You may drive as carefully as you can, observe all the rules of the road, obey the speed limits and follow traffic laws. However, you may still be sideswiped by another car. Or hit by a drunk driver. Or, worse yet, hit someone else because you are distracted.

One second or two is all it takes.

Yet, I still wear my seatbelt. I have had the black and blues to prove that they work in a crash. I take precautions. I look twice and three times before pulling out of my driveway now. I use my backup camera and watch my blind spot.

OPSEC is NOT a magic wand. It doesn’t protect us from the inevitable fallout of betrayal and poor choices.

If my husband found out tomorrow about my infidelity, he would be devastated.

--

--

MonalisaSmiled
Sexography

Adultery 101. Dead Bedrooms. Sex out of network. I am terrible and human. So are you. Editor of The Scarlett Letter | P.S. I Hate You | Sexpressions.