The Secret to Enjoying Anal Sex

It’s all about preparation

Ena Dahl
Sexography
Published in
9 min readSep 11, 2019

--

Marvin Meyer via Unsplash

I see at least one new article about anal sex here every day, and while many are hugely informative and have opened me up to wells of new wisdom, (I’d especially like to credit Joe Duncan for his in-depth knowledge and portfolio of enlightening articles on the topic), I have yet to see one talking extensively about, what I personally deem, the most essential ingredient necessary to make anal truly pleasurable.

It’s not lube.

While that’s definitely essential too, it comes later.

It’s not about feeling comfortable with your partner.

Enthusiastic consent should be a given before any sexual act. Let’s not do anything with anyone unless we trust them and feel comfortable, respected and cared for. Period.

To me, the number one most important component to help me truly enjoy rear-end penetration is pretty basic:

It’s water.

There’s more to it than that, and I’ll get down to the dirty details towards the end, but first, let me tell you about my own experience:

My first boyfriend took both of my virginities at seventeen.

--

--

Ena Dahl
Sexography

Multidisciplinary creatrix; conscious kink & sensuality coach, educator, author, energy worker & rope (s)witch.