Thoughts On Shaming and Over-Sexualizing Slutty Women

Sexually emboldened women are either shamed or objectified

Molly Frances
Sexography

--

Photo by pathdoc on Adobe Stock

If you’ve followed my work for any length of time, you know that I enjoy having sex and get giddy over embracing my sensual nature. I attend sex clubs, have orgies with Hubby, scroll through Tinder on occasion, and have a habit of finding attractive men in coffee shops. I don’t know how many people I’ve slept with, mostly because counting is a tedious task.

I’m not the only woman who lives this way, but I am one of a few brave female writers who are unabashedly vocal about it.

I use the word slut to describe myself for a couple of reasons. First, it’s accurate based on the definition: I do have sex with many people.

Second, the way society uses language to shame and control female sexuality in our culture is absurd, and I want to dismantle the notion that a woman who is sexual should feel shame.

And third, people have an emotional reaction to the word “slut” (positive or negative). That reaction makes them more likely to read what I write, thus further dismantling the societal constructs of female sexuality.

I do not use the word slut because I want people to treat me like an orifice for penises that lacks the depth and attributes

--

--

Molly Frances
Sexography

Molly Frances’s writing explores what it means to be human: relationships, families, sexuality, mental health, and growth.