Your Girlfriend, Brought To You By AI

If your girlfriend was never alive, can it still be love?

Ossiana Tepfenhart
Sexography
Published in
7 min readJul 25, 2023

--

Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

You know, when I was younger, I was very alone. For the longest time, I just wanted someone, anyone to just hold me, accept me, and flaunt me. I wanted my time in the sun, I wanted to be chosen.

It got so bad that I actually debated trying to make a robot designed to just tell me nice things and hold me. And well, flash forward 20 years, and I started to see an actual marketplace build up around AI lovers.

Hell, at times, I even tried to get a human-like connection with Replika. The problem was that using it made me more depressed because I genuinely want real humans around me, and talking to it only reminded me of what I didn’t have.

I was not the right market for that, I don’t think. But, out there, some people are — and they are currently chatting to their romantic partner made of bits and pixels.

I kinda wish I didn’t fry out my brain and I wish I learned coding better. Shit. I could probably be a millionaire. But, I digress. What I’m saying is, my childhood dream of having a robot love is very real today.

In a move that sounds like something out of a sci-fi novel, people are actually turning to AI to…

--

--

Ossiana Tepfenhart
Sexography

I’m a weirdo who loves to write. Deal with it. Available for hire. Instagram @ossiana.makes.content