Your Relationship Doesn’t Need To “Go” Anywhere

Sex need not be a step on the relationship escalator or bust.

Sarah Stroh
Sexography

--

Photo by Taylor Gray on Unsplash

I’m currently dating someone with whom I know “it’s not going anywhere.”

See the thing is, although Eric is happy seeing me (and other women) for the time being, he sees himself as monogamous in the longer term. I, on the other hand, do not. I am polyamorous by nature.

Unless one of us changes our minds, there is no future between us.

And your first instinct upon hearing that may be to say something like, “Oh, that’s a shame.”

You might start wondering why we’re wasting our time, or asking yourself, what’s the point of “investing” in a relationship that’s bound for dissolution.

Or you may want to yell the same thing my friend said about her older brother who wouldn’t propose to his long-term girlfriend, “Shit or get off the pot!”

And I get this.

We’ve all been brought up to believe that a sexual or romantic relationship should “go” somewhere.

You become a “couple.” You cohabitate and maybe get married and have kids. And if everything goes well, you stay together until one of you dies.

--

--

Sarah Stroh
Sexography

For a freer, sexier, less lonely world. IG: monogamish_me. Coaching, free weekly email and more - > https://linktr.ee/monogamish_me