Is it just me, IUD?

The IUD symptom no one told me about

K
The Sex-Positive Blog
5 min readMay 2, 2018

--

I first got my IUD, the Liletta, on June 6, 2017. It was the last day of my period (or so I thought), so it was fucking painful and I cramped for hours, waiting for it to end.

However, my period ended up lasting for another two weeks. It wasn’t super heavy so it didn’t require the use of pads and tampons. I was using panty liners for the time being so my underwear didn’t get ruined. After a time, I started to develop a really painful itch, and once the bleeding stopped, an odd discharge. I realized it was a yeast infection which wasn’t new to me but I had never before had one so severe that I couldn’t even sit comfortably.

I also got the same itching from pads, sometimes to the point where I was itching so severely that I ripped a hole in the pad. Thinking it was the pads themselves, I emailed the company, asked them if they changed the ingredients, and explained my symptoms to them. They emailed me back ensuring me they have not changed the pads since I’ve been using them (I used to use them for years without any problems like this), but they would send me a refund of $10 anyway. They did and I thanked them for being so kind about this and told them I would speak to a gynecologist.

I didn’t get any severe itching from tampons but did find I had trouble inserting them sometimes. Also, because my period isn’t typically especially heavy, it can be painful to take them out. I also had a pair of Thinx (period underwear) that are great and super-comfortable, but having only one pair doesn’t do much good when I’m bleeding for three weeks straight.

After a while, I grew frustrated and went back to using my diva cup (menstrual cup). My GYN had very strongly recommended against the cup because the suction could cause the IUD to get pulled from the cervix. I listened to her advice for a while but I figured if I was careful, I could keep using it. It worked for a few more periods….

Until it didn’t

In January, I was taking out my Diva Cup in the shower when my IUD came right along with it. I panicked and called the Planned Parenthood where I had it inserted. They made me an appointment the next day to have another one inserted.

IUD’s, I’m told, usually take about six months for the body to ‘get used to’ them, but by January, it had already been seven months, and I was still suffering from frequent yeast infections and occasional bacterial vaginosis. Now I had to worry about going though this again for another six months after having another IUD reinserted.

Please don’t ask me why I kept my old IUD…

I went and bought a store-brand, 3-day miconazole treatment when I first started having the yeast infections. It did not work — at all — which perfectly kicked off my journey of self-treatment.

From the point of getting the IUD till today, I have been battling frequent yeast infections and bacterial vaginosis. They can sometimes seem to go away, but they’re soon back again. It’s been hard to find research on this because there is no scientific evidence that IUD’s cause frequent vaginal infections (the only thing remotely scientific I’ve been able to find is this).

But I know my body, and I have never gotten infections this frequently in my life, and they’ve certainly never stuck around this long. There are also countless similar stories — filled with frustration and begging for answers — on blogs and health forums. I’ve also found tons of advice on natural remedies that have worked — for some people.

Once the miconazole failed to yield results, I started researching natural remedies to get rid of the yeast. I’ve tried apple cider vinegar, plain greek yogurt and hydrogen peroxide, as well as coconut oil and aloe vera. I’ve even taken a few supplements, none of which worked in any noticeable, substantive way (for me).

I will say, however, that apple cider vinegar seems to at least have stopped the itching and the discharge.* I was told by my gynecologist that apple cider vinegar can actually make things worse, so I’ve started using it less often. But like I said, it does stop the itching, so I still use it occasionally. She told me to try Monistat, so I spent the $20 and change only for it to not work at all either. Surprise, surprise…

This was a few weeks ago, and I am currently battling another vaginal infection. The hydrogen peroxide worked really well in getting rid of the bacterial vaginosis, which I always thought I’d need a prescription to get rid of but again, sadly, nothing has been working permanently. It’s been months, and I still haven’t figured out a way to get rid of these infections for good. I’ve made an appointment to try to see if my gynecologist has a better solution for me, something that will work permanently, but if that doesn’t work, then I guess I’ll be saying goodbye to my IUD, and hello to my Diva Cup.

Update: I finally had an appointment with my doctor and was prescribed medication. It worked for a longer period than usual but surprise, surprise as of 07/16/18, the yeast infection is back again… I’m currently contemplating making another appointment with my GYN or reaching up and yanking out this IUD.

*Editor’s note: Currently, no one on staff is a doctor or a medical professional of any kind. Our writers are encouraged to speak freely and share openly about their personal experiences, but please believe me when I tell you that none of us is making any kind of healthcare recommendation, and none of is remotely qualified to, either.

Note: I would recommend seeing a healthcare provider before you try self treating if you’ve never had a yeast infection or bacterial vaginosis.

Has anyone else had this issue with their IUD? If so, what have you tried? Let me know in the responses below if you are going through the same thing or if you have any advice!

--

--