I Wear Lingerie to Remind Myself That I’m a Sex Goddess

What helps you remember the sensual creature that hides underneath?

Molly Frances
Sexual Tendencies

--

I often wear a garter and black stockings on Wednesday mornings. You won’t notice, they hide under a well-constructed suit, and you’ll think I’m probably wearing pantyhose or tights. That’s fine. I’m not wearing lace top thigh highs and a garter for you. This is all for me.

I live my life in a pretty conservative realm most of the time. My professional life requires a level of conservativism that I wouldn’t usually choose for myself.

When I’m not working, I spend most of my time being a mom. Yes, I do find time to let my freak flag fly, but mostly I’m your typical New England mid-thirties woman. I might even be your neighbor. When I’m out and about with my kids or cheering on another golf game, I blend in (somewhat). The other PTA moms expect women to fit a particular image, and I’m playing along.

We can all discuss how unfair it is that people would judge us based solely on appearances and take nothing else into account. However, we have to live in the world as it is today, and I’m not interested in making my son’s school life more difficult by wearing my fishnets to parent night.

Women who have learned to harness their…

--

--

Molly Frances
Sexual Tendencies

Molly Frances’s writing explores what it means to be human: relationships, families, sexuality, mental health, and growth.