What Does it Mean to Be Sex Positive?

Expressing our sexuality is bold and beautiful

Holly Paige
Sexual Tendencies

--

Image by Igor Link from Pixabay

There’s still a good bit of confusion surrounding what it means to be sex positive.

I’ll admit that the term wasn’t something I was familiar with until recently. I never heard it in my writing courses or psych classes in college. Years ago, when I was dating, no one ever called themselves sex positive.

It wasn’t until I started researching my various growing sexual desires that I first started reading about the sex positive movement.

I’ve learned a lot about myself in my sexual exploration, including (1) I’m not hardwired for monogamy, (2) being sexually submissive is maybe my biggest turn-on, and (3) after some real-life consensual experimentation with two of my women friends — I’m maybe not completely straight.

And, most importantly, I’ve learned how to let go of a lot of repressed shame in order to find the courage to start sexually expressing myself.

I didn’t have much encouragement to be sex positive when I was growing up. To my parents, talking about sex was taboo and difficult.

Exploring one’s body and learning about physical pleasure through masturbation was never a topic of conversation. Nakedness was embarrassing and inappropriate and always…

--

--

Holly Paige
Sexual Tendencies

Curious creature, pursuer of passion, unbeliever in limiting or lengthy bios. Email me at hollypaige.writer@gmail.com.